Joan Baez is back with her new studio album „Whistle Down The Wind“ and entered #8 at the official German album charts!

Joan Baez

“Whistle Down The Wind” is Joan’s first new studio album in a decade, produced by Joe Henry, and now got a top 10 album chart entry in Germany. The new album gathers material by some of Baez’s favorite composers like Tom Waits, Josh Ritter, Joe Henry, Anohni Mary Chapin Carpenter, Zoe Mulford, Tim Eriksen and Eliza Gilkyson.

The 77 year old icon took 1 ½ year time working on this record and shows a reflection of her own life as a singer, musician and activist. The title track is from Tom Waits and initially from his album “Bone Machine” (1992). The song “Last Leaf” is also written by Tom Waits and fits perfectly to Joan’s life since she said about herself she is ‚the last leaf on the tree for lots of folks‘. Joan discovered the song „The President Sang Amazing Grace“ by hearing it on the radio: “I was just driving and I heard that song and I just pulled over. It's so expressive of my thoughts and feelings, which are pretty fucking gloomy, but she did it in such a beautiful way that's as dark as it is beautiful.”

 Josh Ritter and Joan first met on tour when he opened for her on the road. The two songs „Silver Blade“ and „Be Of Good Heart“ from Josh got the sound of old folk songs, which Joan loves so much.

Currently Joan Baez just started her world tour in Stockholm at March 2nd and soon will have her first concert in Germany at March 25th.


Go back